• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Finder's rights to lost cash?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Kurishae

Finder's rights to lost cash (in Pennsylvania)?

State: Pennsylvania

Hello everyone, my name's Chris. I need some help filling in my legal knowledge gaps about something, so any help would be appreciated. Here's my situation:

About three months ago in May, I found an envelope with a large sum (over $200) of money in the parking lot of my place of employment. I could use the extra cash (I'm a poor college graduate), but I decided to report the money to my manager and our local police department instead of pocketing it. An officer came to my workplace, counted the money, and told me that he would call me within the next few days in regards to the station's policy on lost property (he didn't know off the top of his head). He did not give me a receipt of any kind. The officer never got around to calling me, so I started visiting the station once in a while to inquire about it (I figured that calling would be less informative/productive).

A month after I turned in the money, I was finally able to get in touch with the officer, who said that he had looked up the law, but forgot what it said, and that he would call me. He didn't, so I again periodically visited the station until I could catch him, at which point he confidently told me, "after 60 days, the money is all yours!" I went to the station after the two months were up, and was told that I would actually have to stop by when both the officer AND a supervisor were present. They said they would call me. They didn't (3 out of 3).