• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Implied contract/ wrongful termination

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

bret8kins

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Virginia

This case is about implied contracts and wrongful termination

On or about November 27 or 28 I was directly interviewed with the company I would be working for and was hired on through an IT Staffing Firm. I WAS TOLD BY THE VP THAT INTERVIEWED ME THAT IT TAKES 4-6 MONTHS TO BE HIRED ON DIRECTLY AS A PERMANENT EMPLOYEE. On Dec.9,2013 I started training for a company based in Minnesota through a staffing firm based in New Jersey. I was hired to manage a depot(TECHNICALLY I WAS CALLED A LEAD TECH)and after 1 week of training in Minnesota, came back to Virginia to start what I thought and hoped we be a long career with them and the last job I would ever have. The VP hired me and I explicitly stated to him these were my intentions. At the time I was hired it was told to me the they wanted to hire a total of 3 people. Myself and 2 people that I would manage. But after working at the depot for a few weeks he began to give EXCUSES as to why there hadn't been a third person yet. Something like we are looking but haven't found the right fit. On FEBRUARY 13,2014 he flew out here to hire the replacement (the only other employee) because he was a bad fit and not a good employee. I couldn't do the hiring because I wasn't a FT perm employee of the company yet. HE REFERRED TO ME AS THE SITE SUPERVISOR IN INTERVIEWS.WE HIRED AN INDIVIDUAL(WAS ADVISED HE WOULD BE HIRED AS FT PERM AFTER 30 DAYS BECAUSE THEY WERE HAVING ISSUES WITH STAFFING FIRM AND THOUGH IT WAS CHEAPER TO GO THIS ROUTE). AT THIS TIME THE VP THAT