• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Recreating Accounting Records for Filing Back Taxes

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Washington

Hello, I am an accounting student. My friend's elderly father stopped using his CPA and stopped paying federal taxes in 2012. He is now, of course, receiving letters from the IRS. I have agreed to help him with the accounting. He has not kept good records.

The man is a sole proprietor and owns a restaurant, and a combination ice cream & toy store. He also has rental income. He pays his son and daughter in-law to work for him by 1099. All of his other employees are W-2. He has kept up on his state taxes.

I plan to start by entering all credit card and bank transaction into quickbooks. He would like me to start with 2017 since that is what the IRS is contacting them about, but I think we should start with 2013 since those are the last numbers we have. Which is better?

Also, since he has not kept good records there are many purchases that we cannot tell if they are business expenses. Since he does not have good records, we are not sure how to approach cost of goods sold for his toy inventory either, as he buys most of it at discount retail stores and then resells it.

If anyone can give me any guidance, I would be very grateful. I don't want to see my friend's children lose everything because of this mistake.

LdiJ

Washington

Hello, I am an accounting student. My friend's elderly father stopped using his CPA and stopped paying federal taxes in 2012. He is now, of course, receiving letters from the IRS. I have agreed to help him with the accounting. He has not kept good records.