• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can a discrimination suit be filed if unjustly banned from a Home Depot under false circumstances becuz im black

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

What is the name of your state? New Jersey
i am a licensed contractor in NJ I was harassed/discriminated against for months by a Home Depot Loss prevention employee who called the Toms River Police on myself and my construction crew because she profiles us as thieves (were Black) even though i spent 4k in the store that day and had receipts. I filed numerous complaints asking the company to assist and nothing was done. late last year while i was there purchasing items for which i have a receipt, i was approached by that same employee and BANNED for use of my cellphone while in the store. I was presented with a letter to sign which i refused and left. Later HD sent a letter stating i was BANNED from all locations for 3 years for being on site for NON business related activities even though i have a receipt. Have Video Proof of all I state -plus i have a Home Depot proXtra Business account under which i spent over 25k on materials within the final quarter of the year not including what my investors and clients spent through me.
[video removed]

Last edited:

xylene

I suggest you:

Seek legal counsel because a lawsuit of this type is not a DIY thing. If lawyers tell you nothing can be done it is very very likely you have no case

Consider escalating your complaint in writing to Home Depot corporate.