• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Wrongfully Fired from Internship

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Krysiarose

What is the name of your state? New Mexico

I am a behavioral health online student at a state college in another city, an older student switching careers. The college does not assist students with finding internships due to being online and global; the students must find their own internships and the university does not check or approve any agencies. I found an internship at a small for-profit counseling business owned by a husband and wife. I was interviewed by the wife and thought all was well until I met the husband. He was a workplace bully to everyone who worked under him; interns, contracted counselors, office employees and clients (his clients were court mandated, not paying clients). I was bullied at my maintenance job, an attorney helped me stop that situation, and I couldn’t believe I was dealing with another bully – at a counseling agency. His wife was okay (and was my supervisor per agreement with the university). Just after midterms, she gave me a good review but for some reason that set her husband off, and he fired me. Being his wife, she had to go along with his decision. The university was no help; the adjunct professor, the adviser, and the dean were not equipped to assist a student who was having problems with an internship and had nothing in place for this type of situation. The husband wrote a false letter stating that we had “parted under mutual agreement”. Because he fired me, there was no agreement – I was told I was fired, to leave, and not to return. I asked for a withdrawal grade due to the unusual circumstances. The student adv