• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Statute of Fraud

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Kurt B.

I'm a student at a university in Hoboken, New Jersey. I'm also an officer at a university club that organises events. For a particular event, I requested a quote from Restaurant 'A' which they sent as an image on text message. After a day I texted the restaurant owner that we are considering quotations from other restaurants as well and the club will finalize one and forward it to the university. The next day I texted the restaurant owner that the club is ready to go for his quote and I'll forward it to the university. Later that day the club decided to switch to another restaurant, Restaurant 'B'. So the following day I informed the owner of Restaurant A that we are not going forward with their quote. There was no quote acceptance email from the university for restaurant A. The restaurant owner is now saying that they ordered raw materials pertaining the event and I should pay for the raw materials or they'll file a lawsuit against me. Please help! I'm I in a legal binding contract and liable to pay for the raw materials or the restaurant A owner is at fault and shouldn't have ordered the raw materials beforehand?

quincy