• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Question about withholding

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Jay968

What is the name of your state?California

I'm basically retired but I've been working part time for several months now. I sometimes work enough to earn over $500 in a 2 week pay period, and I sometimes work enough to earn only $50. It varies. I DO have some voluntary extra taken out to account for additional income above my social security checks and my wife's earnings.

I have never yet even once had any fed nor state withholding by my employer from any of my paychecks other than my own designated "extra" amount and a few dollars for medicare. I've been told that the reason is that I just do not make enough money for them to do so. Payroll also tells me that if I make less than $12,000 for the year, anything that they would have taken out, would be refunded to me anyway when I do my taxes and that this why they still don't take anything out if my paycheck grosses over $500.

Does this make sense? I've been shown the tax withholding tables and they do confirm what I am being told.
But has something changed in the past few years?
I have never once worked at a job in the past where absolutely nothing was taken out at all, no matter how small the pay was.

Jay968

Thanks for the reply.

I know I asked if it makes sense but my bigger question was "has something changed in the past few years?" Why have I had tax withheld from paychecks in my past that were far smaller than the checks I have nothing taken out of now? And why do I still know people who ARE having taxes withheld even from small paychecks?