• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Buying a car with lien

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

krassyg

Found a car on eBay that I like but the seller's credit union has a lien on the car and holds the title (AZ). As per him I have to send the payment to the credit union that will then release the title to him and he'll sign it over to me. Is that the proper procedure or am I asking to get scammed? Ebay does have some kind of protection but I've never done this before and I am a bit hesitant.

quincy

Found a car on eBay that I like but the seller's credit union has a lien on the car and holds the title (AZ). As per him I have to send the payment to the credit union that will then release the title to him and he'll sign it over to me. Is that the proper procedure or am I asking to get scammed? Ebay does have some kind of protection but I've never done this before and I am a bit hesitant.
Do you live in Arizona?

Do you think it’s a good idea to pay off a stranger’s car with only a promise from this stranger that he will sign the title over to you?

krassyg

I don't but I really like the car, lol; even the color is perfect. Can I get the credit union to transfer the title directly to me somehow? I don't live in AZ but I am going to Vegas anyway; figured I'll get the car as well. Two birds...

quincy

I don't but I really like the car, lol; even the color is perfect. Can I get the credit union to transfer the title directly to me somehow? I don't live in AZ but I am going to Vegas anyway; figured I'll get the car as well. Two birds...