• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Need help on handling a deposit on a house

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Lynda99

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Texas

I've been renting a house for over 4 years, with a rent of $1300.

I've given 30 days notice by certified mail that I'll be moving by May 1.

I was getting ready to pay my April rent when something occurred to me:

My house is in perfect condition, but there is absolutely zero chance that I'll get my $1300 deposit back from these people. ZERO. Right now the homeowners association is suing them because they haven't paid HOA dues for 2 years! They're awful little sleazes.

What is the worst that can happen if I don't pay April rent, so they have to apply the deposit to April?

Gail in Georgia

The worst?

They file for eviction against you, take you to court, win based on the fact that you owe rent, the sheriff oversees your eviction where all your items are dragged out of the house and placed by the side of the road, the eviction on your record makes it impossible for you to find another decent place to live...and then they turn around and sue you again for the owed rent.

Far better to pay the rent for April, move out, wait for your security deposit and sue THEM if this is not returned within your states required time frame.

If the landlords are such awful sleazes, why did you rent from them for the past four years?

Gail

Lynda99

For craps sake. They can't evict me in the 25 days from the 5th to the 30th. They can't put my stuff on the curb in that time frame, Gail, and I'm sure you know that. Why would you purposely give me bogus information?