• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Arrearages & Tax question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

LoriMcD

What is the name of your state? AZ
Mynow ex-husband still has not paid any child support. He's over $2000 behind. I have tried serving him with an expedited order of support & parenting time, but I've been unsuccessful. Can I hand-deliver it to him? Also since our son & I have been living with my parents (I'm a full-time student) can he claim us as dependents on taxes, or can my parents claim us? I didn't work at all in 2005.

Ohiogal

Queen Bee
LoriMcD said:
Mynow ex-husband still has not paid any child support. He's over $2000 behind. I have tried serving him with an expedited order of support & parenting time, but I've been unsuccessful. Can I hand-deliver it to him? Also since our son & I have been living with my parents (I'm a full-time student) can he claim us as dependents on taxes, or can my parents claim us? I didn't work at all in 2005.
What does the custody agreement say about who gets to claim the chlid?

LoriMcD

It says he can claim our son for 3 out of 4 years, unless I get a job, then it's every other year. He has it stay current on his child support. He's not. He's 8 months behind.

B

betterthanher

LoriMcD said:
Mynow ex-husband still has not paid any child support. He's over $2000 behind. I have tried serving him with an expedited order of support & parenting time, but I've been unsuccessful. Can I hand-deliver it to him?

How have you tried serving him? You would have to check your state's rules of procedure...you might not be able to personally serve him.