• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

AZ: Terminated for "not being religious enough"

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

montoa01

What is the name of your state? Arizona
I am a food-service contractor and I work for a client who is a Christian-based organization. After 6 months of very successful work I was informed they were eliminating my position and were going to look for someone who was more "religious". I believe they made this decision after they found out my wife is Muslim. They probably assume I am too, but I'm actually Christian as well. The client actually told my boss, "we want someone more religious and this is why we've made this decision".

Is this legal?
I have no disciplinary history. In fact, I've helped the organization accomplish some major milestones.

LdiJ

I get a W2 from the contracting company I work for, not from the client. Due to the clients decision, I'll be laid off
So your employer had nothing to do with the decision? It was your employer's client who made the decision? Unfortunately you have no recourse. It is not your employer's fault if he has to lay you off.

montoa01

So your employer had nothing to do with the decision? It was your employer's client who made the decision? Unfortunately you have no recourse. It is not your employer's fault if he has to lay you off.
Correct. Thank you for the information.

adjusterjack

Due to the clients decision, I'll be laid off