• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can I ask the applicant to give a copy of tax return

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

shawnusa

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Mass

I have a house for rent. Can I ask the applicant to give me last 2 years tax return to prove that they have money and will pay the rent? I also asked the bank statement. Please let me know if I asked too much.

Any suggestion on what kind of background check that I need to do and where I need to go. I am new to these.

Many Thanks!!!

Last edited:

CourtClerk

I know someone who on the last 2 tax statemens made close to 100k/yr.

He now works for $12/hr. What's your point?

atomizer

OP, asking for two years tax returns is not a bad idea.
One of the things you need to determine is work stability. Many people are workplace drifters that can't seem to hold a job. Ask for last two landlord references. Keep in mind that current LL may lie to get rid of tenant, and don't forget to do a criminal history as well.

Lastly, you may want to consider if you want to go month to month or go with a yearly lease. Both has positives and negatives.

Antigone*

OP, asking for two years tax returns is not a bad idea.
One of the things you need to determine is work stability. Many people are workplace drifters that can't seem to hold a job. Ask for last two landlord references. Keep in mind that current LL may lie to get rid of tenant, and don't forget to do a criminal history as well.

Lastly, you may want to consider if you want to go month to month or go with a yearly lease. Both has positives and negatives.