• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can plaintiff pursue matter beyond small claims court, given these circumstance?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

arnie582

What is the name of your state? Oregon

I. Initial Comment: This is a very complex set of circumstances, as it involves my performing tax compliance work for a 7 year non-filer; I've distilled this down into the simplest explanation possible in order to solicit some guidance on how I, as plaintiff, might further proceed in this matter.

II. Background:
I'm a CPA / tax preparer suing a client in small claims court to collect unpaid fees (through the date of my terminating the relationship). There is a written contract in effect which supports my right to bill for unpaid fees and also to terminate a client for cause. The defendant became verbally and in-writing abusive both before after I terminated him (that's easy to prove). In what I view as a strong and pejorative retaliatory measure, defendant filed a counterclaim for 3X the amount of my claim, and it alleges that I "didn't do my duties" ... that I showed "lacked due diligence" and that he had to "spend with new CPA to correct incompetence". I have adequate proof from documents and a series of emails from the client that his intension was to sue for unfinished work. While my claim was simple, to simply collect for work performed (backed up by my work product and time sheets, etc.), defendant doubled down and made it into something much bigger! I have language in the Contract (Engagement Letter) which includes "The client agrees that if collection proceedings become necessary due to non-payment, then the client will be responsible for legal fees, ... collecti