• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Caselaw on Child Care

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jbachom

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state?OH

I would like to know if there is case law in Ohio regarding what age children are not required to be placed in child care.

My situation is this: I have been paying child support on three children for 7 years now and a large portion of the amount is for child care. My ex has lived with another man for 6 years and has a 5 year old child that his parents watch daily while she and her boyfriend work. They also watch my 13, 12 and 10 year old for about an hour before and after school. (I have no problem with the boyfriend and his family as they are genually nice people.)

The problem is that everytime we have gone to court and last year was a 3 year modification review she promises to start paying for daycare but never has proof she ever has. When asked to produce receipts she states that she does not pay. Knowing this, last year she produced a letter to the hearing officer stating she wanted to start paying 125/week to her boyfriends parents and he accepted this as evidence and awarded her money for daycare once again. Since the previous 6 years she has no proof of ever paying I doubt she is paying them now and realistically they watch the other child all day versus my children for about an hour or so before and after school.