• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Chapter 13 help, Please

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

robertrk

What is the name of your state? Maryland

We are in a 5 year Chapter 13 plan. We filed in November 2002. Our first payment of $720.00 was made in December. We have made 6 plan payments of $720.00 thus far. Our plan was just actually confirmed on May 12th. The problem is this. I was just informed this week the company I work for is closing our site on August 31st, 2003. I have been working there for 15 years. I called my lawyer and he said we cannot do anything until it actually happens. My lawyer asked if I would be getting a severance. I advised I would be. My lawyer then said I cannot do anything until after my severance runs out. The other problem is that my husband is retired, drawing a pension that will reduce by $900.00 per month beginning in November 2003. My husband is working a temporary job right now, which was included in this plan. My husband is desperately trying to find a job that pays more. However, he has been totally unsuccessful thus far. I told the my lawyer there is no way, in this current job market, I will make what I am making now. I asked my lawyer what will happen. He again told me we cannot do anything until after my job is gone and my severance is depleted. My lawyer also told me that I would need to find a job making what I making now. I told him that might be virtually impossible right now. I told him my best bet would be to go through a temporary employment service to find some work. He stressed again, I need to find a job making what I am making now. So now I am very scared. It is not my fault my company is closing. I don't know how I w