• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Competitor trying to interfere with business

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

above82

What is the name of your state FL

Im not sure if this is the correct area of the forum for this but heres my question...kind of long but needs the full explanation.

I am an independent contractor for a roadside assistance company. We provide jump starts, lockouts fuel delivery and tire changes for mostly allstate customers who have their roadside coverage.

I also work another job after hours.

Another competitor came into my job and asked me if I was the one who did this type of service, my truck has the company name on it with road and lock services, I said yes, she said that you are supposed to have a license to do these services and she has called the state and filed a cease and desist on our business until the proper licensing is obtained. I told her I work for a big nationwide company and I am positive we are doing everything within legal mean. She also said we are taking away business from her company.

In a kind manner I said I would call the company I work for tomorrow and ensure we are licensed correctly.

The owner of the business I work for received a call the next day from the same woman stating the same thing to him. The owner went about calling the state of florida to ensure he is within the proper licensing as well and found out he is perfectly fine. He then called her to confirm this and let her know there arent any issues and we are operating legally.

A Few days ago we received a call for a service at a residence for a tire change for a fee. We accepted this call but on the way she cancelled stating a neighbor was helping her.