• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Copyrights & Trademarks

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

NormanCR

What is the name of your state? Michigan.
(I am a non US resident living in South Africa, but the book is published in Grand Rapids, Michigan).

I have a hard copy of "Susies Babies", a children's book by E Margaret Clarkson, published in 1960. I wish to make a voice recording of this book for use in our church's Family Bible Adventure. The book is copyright. Is this permissible?

quincy

What is the name of your state? Michigan.
(I am a non US resident living in South Africa, but the book is published in Grand Rapids, Michigan).

I have a hard copy of "Susies Babies", a children's book by E Margaret Clarkson, published in 1960. I wish to make a voice recording of this book for use in our church's Family Bible Adventure. The book is copyright. Is this permissible?
You will need to check the status of the copyright of "Susie's Babies."

I believe the copyright in the work was renewed which means under US copyright laws that the book (originally published in 1960) is not in the public domain and still copyright protected.

You will need to get permission from the current rights-holder(s) in order to make a voice recording of the book. Voice recordings of books are considered derivative works. Creating derivatives is one of the exclusive rights held by copyright owners.

E. Margaret Clarkson is Canadian. I believe she lived in Toronto before her death in 2008. You will want to contact her estate.

Good luck.

NormanCR

Thank you for your quick response. I have written to the publisher but there seems to be a long turnaround time for responding.

quincy