• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Destructive Roommate

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Rcalh352

Hi, I'm from Pennsylvania and I'm very new to the world of laws and provisions and such. I have an issue that I want to go about the proper way of handling but I can't figure out how that is. In May I was asked by a friend to allow a 20 y/o male to come live with me because of circumstances that were family related. I felt bad being as I lived alone in a pretty large 2 bedroom apartment/house and I could use the extra income, so I let him move in. I asked my landlord whom I know personally and am decently close to if it was ok for me to let him live there and she agreed, however no papers were ever signed and he is not on my lease. Since he has moved in his room has been utterly disgusting with trash, food, cat urine, and barely a walkway. Our situation keeps getting worse and his cat has completely ruined the room he lives in with urine as well as multiple other things that I own. It's gotten to the point where I need him to leave. My question is how would I go about doing that? Does he need 30 days notice or papers served? I am more than willing to bring my landlord in on this and she'd be more than willing to sign papers and force him to go as well. I just need to know where to start. I would really appreciate any help/advise you can give me.

Just Blue