• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

In Good Faith agreement termination, any liability?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

galex3usa

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA
I have been providing advertising service to one client for many years. Initially we signed the contract and renewed every year. After many years we mutually agreed to conduct business in a good faith, " same as before" pricing and conditions. Now, in response to my usual email reminder of the upcoming deadline, a delayed answer came that they decided to cancel advertising and regret about the short notice.
I replied that according TERMS AND CONDITIONS of which they were aware from the beginning, no cancellation less than 15 days to deadline (their cancellation notice came 10 days before deadline).
Their response- yeah, but we didn't sign the contract.
My response- we haven't been signing the contract for many years and have been doing business in good faith, but the TERMS and CONDITIONS of service still apply and they (the customer) are aware of such.
Since then, no correspondence from them and I am wondering if I have a legal case and if so, if I can threaten them to complete paid advertising this time and they can go, or they will be responsible to compensate for lost revenue and labor?
Thank you.

adjusterjack

There is no threaten to sue, there is only sue or not sue.

You can threaten all you want and your customer can ignore you all he wants.

Oral agreements are just as enforceable as written agreements, it's just more difficult to prove the terms and conditions.