• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is it legal to ask for an ID when paying with a credit card?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

formerlsa

What is the name of your state? Ma

Hello, I was under the impression that a service person couldn't ask you for an ID when you went to pay with a credit card say at CVS or any store??? Well, I am a manager/bartender at a Pub. My owner told me last night that a few credit cards have come back because the person didn't sign them and they said it was not them who ate and drank at our establishment. OK, I understand they didn't sign the slip, even though it had been ran through our machine. He says he is out the money but I believe it was because they didn't sign the slip. If it was signed then the customer would have to deal with the bank, I think.

Now he is telling me that when a person asks for the check and hands me a credit card, other than the usual process of checking signatures, he says we have to ask for an ID also. Is this a legal procedure? I think not but I may be wrong. I think people may be offended and I know that nobody ever asks me for my ID when I pay with a credit card. What do you guys know about this?

Thanks in advance**************.didn't know where to begin to find this answer other than calling a credit card company itself.

seniorjudge

formerlsa said:
What is the name of your state? Ma