• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

joint custody need to get sole custody A.S.A.P.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

claw06

What is the name of your state? Minnesota

I will try to give everyone as much information as I can.

My ex-husband and I have joint physical and legal custody of our 13 year old daughter. I am supposed to have her every other week. I need to have this revised and have no idea how I go about this or how to pay for it. I am a fulltime college student and I work at the college part time as part of a work study program. I have a very meager income. However, I have managed to rent a tiny 2 bedroom townhouse for my daughter and I that is 27 miles away from her school. But, that is where it was affordable. I receive no spousal maintenance or child support.
My ex-husband owns his own company and makes a decent living. He lives 8 blocks from her school in a nice, new 1 bedroom townhouse. She sleeps on a pull out couch in the living room.
We separated last August and were divorced in December. My ex-husband is an alcoholic. He is not a daily drinker but when he does drink he does not stop. Since our divorce I have had to pick her up in the middle of the night on 3 separate occasions due to his drinking. One of those times because he was in jail for driving under the influence of Alcohol. Then, I had to pick her and her friend up last night because they went out to dinner for Father's Day and after dinner he went into the restaurant's bar. When my daughter asked him to leave, he told her to walk home. So, I picked her up and brought her back to my house.