• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

LOTTERY WIN

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.
New York.
I'm a writer seeking advice. If my teenage character won big money in the UK lottery (play from 16) whilst on vacation, could the parents forcibly place that money into a trust until she is 18? Providing her with a limited allowance and them with sufficient monies to provide a good level of care and living standard.

I know you are all very busy but if you had a quick thought, I would be very grateful. Many thanks!

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
Absolutely they could. She is a minor. Winning a lottery does not remove her from the care, custody and control of her parents.

adjusterjack

If my teenage character won big money in the UK lottery (play from 16) whilst on vacation
There's where your scenario fails. Your teenage character would not be eligible to play whilst on vacation. She'd have to be a resident of the UK or Isle of Man. See Rule 1.2:

https://www.national-lottery.co.uk/account-terms?icid=bsp:na:tx
could the parents forcibly place that money into a trust until she is 18?
Forcibly? You're making it seem like the parents are doing something evil to the child. They wouldn't be.

Writers are supposed to do research. I suggest you do some before you suggest scenarios, assuming you want some sense of reality in your stories.

There's where your scenario fails. Your teenage character would not be eligible to play whilst on vacation. She'd have to be a resident of the UK or Isle of Man. See Rule 1.2:

https://www.national-lottery.co.uk/account-terms?icid=bsp:na:tx