• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

massive increase in support

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

msmaryanne

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state?California

Am I doing this right? I need a question answered about child support. I'm new to this computer stuff. Here it is ; My original child support order was calculated to be 287.00 per mo. A modification was made 2 years later, and in the financial worksheet I reversed my net & gross income. This caused my support to rise to 1,753.00 per mo. If the error is proven, will I be able to get any of that money back?

Mary Anne :confused:

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

msmaryanne said:
What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state?California

Am I doing this right? I need a question answered about child support. I'm new to this computer stuff. Here it is ; My original child support order was calculated to be 287.00 per mo. A modification was made 2 years later, and in the financial worksheet I reversed my net & gross income. This caused my support to rise to 1,753.00 per mo. If the error is proven, will I be able to get any of that money back?

Mary Anne :confused:

My response:

Nope. The error was yours, and thus does not place any burden on someone else for your mistake. Obviously, your income has increased since the original order - - and I'm sure you realize that there wouldn't be much of a difference between the net and the gross for calculation purposes. Besides, the child is entitled to live the lifestyle of the wealthier parent.

IAAL

stealth2

Under the Radar Member