• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Me against the school

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Xamot

I live in California and attend school at UCLA

I'll keep it brief, but I'm wondering how much it would cost to get a good Academic Lawyer for a lawsuit against the school for damages.

What happened was that I'm a student, I'm now a third year and I'm down 10 units or 2 classes, and I have a hold on my record therefore not allowing me to register for my classes. I'll keep the details short, but in general, I'd like to file damages caused by the hold on my record, and the counselors not lifting the hold so I could enroll in my classes for next quarter.

I'd like to know what I could file for, but I have a general idea. It is a really long and complicated story and I'm pretty confident about my claim, which I'm doing research for now.

CdwJava

Why is there a hold on your records?

The most obvious reason is, of course, you are in arrears to the university. Check out the Student Debt Grievance Procedure.

The rules are very obvious and up front. In the case of UCLA they are also on the internet.

If there is a "hold" on your record - thus preventing re-registration (a stated consequence as mentioned on their site) - then you will have to clear it before you can register and you have no grounds for a lawsuit at all.

- Carl

Xamot

I've been very reasonable. I have a hold on my record simply due to mistakes my first two years, by dropping classes. It finally caught up to me where I am down 10 units, or 2 classes. The hold is something called "ECP" or Estimated Cumulative Progress" which only prevents me from registering classes.