• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Moving company - recovery of deposit

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Ibby

I'm an Illinois resident and booked a moving company based out of NJ. I paid a deposit via e-check, as required by the company, about 10 days before the scheduled pickup date. Long story short, the move fell through and I'm now trying to recover the deposit even though the company claims it is nonrefundable. I believe I have a claim for either breach of contract or fraudulent inducement based on the sales rep's outright lies prior to booking, but the amount in dispute (just under $1k) seems barely worth actually filing a claim. What I'm trying to figure out is whether there are any non-litigation options such as any sort of consumer protection agency that would help mediate a claim. Alternatively, if I do have to resort to small claims, can anyone tell me anything about the procedure? Details below.

Background/details: