• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Need advice with marriage/immigration.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

omar_b

What is the name of your state? California

Great forum. I'm glad I found it. I have read through most of the immigration forum but have not found a complete answer to my question. Here are the facts: I entered the US illegally when I was 9 years old. Once here, my parents sent me to school, told me to get good grades and now worry about a thing. Big mistake in my part but what did I know? This of course, it's not an excuse. It is what it is. I graduated with a BA in Art/Graphic Design last year. I have not used my degree. I work for small company doing purchasing/delivering for them. I am also engaged to a permanent resident who will become a citizen in exactly 2 years. I have known her for 14 years, been together for 5, and engaged for 7 months. We want to get married the worst way but my legal status is holding us up. What are my options, if any? I have talked to some lawyers but I have never really gotten a straight answer. I gather from what I have read that having entered the country illegally alone is quite a hard obstacle to get over. Will it make any difference if we get married before or after she becomes a citizen? How will the fact that I have worked illegally for over 10 year affect the process? Is my case simply hopeless? I have been a good person here in the US. Never been arrested and have educated myself. Paying for non-resident tuition by working hard. Please, I know exactly what I have done. I know I have broken the law by simply being here, yet alone actually working illegally. It's something I face every day I'm here. I just need to