• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Need medical health insurance

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

cbmblessed

What is the name of your state? I live in Illinois and would like to know how can my fiance add me to his employee health insurance before we are married? I'm a full-time student and I work only the allowed maxium hours for work study with no major medical health insurance. We have been living together for almost two years and planning to get married after I graduate in 2005

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

cbmblessed said:
What is the name of your state? I live in Illinois and would like to know how can my fiance add me to his employee health insurance before we are married?

====================================

My response:

You can't until you're married.

IAAL

C

cbmblessed

Is it possible to give legal guardianship to him as his dependent since he is my provider?

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

cbmblessed said:
Is it possible to give legal guardianship to him as his dependent since he is my provider?

My response:

Since you're a student, and you sound like you're mentally able to care for yourself, and you're not a danger to yourself or others, then no, he cannot obtain "Conservatorship" of you. "Guardianship" is the term used for a minor. You don't sound like a minor.

Hey, at least you're thinking, and trying out all the angles!

IAAL

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
Unless you meet the definition of a dependent in the plan booklet you cannot be added to his health insurance. Period, end of statement, case closed.