• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Not sure if this is the right forum.. but need help!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ErinGoBragh

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NY

I'm sorry, because this involves 3rd parties, but me as well, and I'm not technically sure if this is the right forum.

I subcontract occasionally in my job capacity for the law firm of distant family member who does legal work as an attorney. Over the course of the years, I, my mother, and my siblings have gotten legal work from this office; nothing serious, mostly stuff involving traffic infractions and the like, but there WAS a messy custody case handled by the attorney for my middle sibling, and the office also handled my parents divorce back years ago.

An employee of the firm (not an attorney, someone in an administrative capacity) was doing a number of things involving mismanagement of office resources that led to their termination. In in my capacity working for the office, I was one of the people to bring some of these things to the attorney's attention. On the former employee's termination, the former employee took a new job at another place. My middle sibling took over the former employee's job duties at the office, as my middle sibling has also done some work for the office in the past and was asked to do such when the office found themselves now without a job filled. Ironically, the former employee then took a job working for a friend of my middle sibling, none of which was known to us at the time.