• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Please help! Can I sue?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mznatalie

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? PA

I am a freelance web designer and back in May I created a website for a car dealership. The site has been up and running since the end of May and I have even seen them advertising the website on autotrader and obviously they are using the site because they have uploaded about 80 cars to the database. I talk to the owners through email and telephone and they keep promising payment but keep giving me excuses on why they haven't paid. Once it was one owner had a baby and the next the other owner had a baby so they hadn't gotten around to paying it. Through all of this they still email asking for small little updates and I do them because I dont want them to use that against me in court. Do I even have a case because they never signed a contract. All I have are all of the source files for the work that I did and a couple of emails sayings that they will pay but it doesn't say when or how much. Do I even have a chance?

dcatz

You have a case. Even without a contract, you’re entitled to the “reasonable value” of services that weren’t rendered gratuitously. Depending on the laws of your state, if you’ve been sending monthly bills and have maintained a ledger of their growing obligation, you may have additional causes of action for Account Stated and Open Book Account.

Make a written demand for payment within 30 days of the demand date and send it CRRR. Then file and serve. The hearing date will be more than 30 days, and service may be the “wake-up call” they need.