• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Policy name not same as birth certificate

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

amfmnsam

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Indiana

Without any official action, my name has changed from the one on my birth certificate to the one I have been using for nearly 30 years. My social security ID and passport are in the name, just a shortened version of the Catholic saint and a middle initial, not the full version on my birth certificate. I have couple of life insurance policies in the shortened name. How do I make sure my family will get my estate?What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

Dandy Don

Why has there been no "OFFICIAL" LEGAL action to change the name legally and why did you want to change it anyway? That can be done in a local family court for a few hundred dollars.

Are you a male or a female?

If you have any doubts about how it will be handled with the insurance company, you need to be discussing it with the agent or the company now. And also type up a document explaining everything about the name change and your correct identifying SSN and date of birth, address history, name of friends and relatives who can verify you story/identify you so that if you die the person who handles your estate matters will know about this very important aspect.

As long as you have identified your beneficiaries on the beneficiary designation form provided by your insurance company you don't have much to worry about.

ErinGoBragh

I don't honestly see how the insurance company is going to change the name on the policy without "official" documentation.

Dandy Don