• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Probation violation from another state

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

J

Jeanne Sheeps

I live in Las Vegas, NV. My boyfriend is on probation from Maine. He was picked up for a probation violation for getting kicked out of his court-mandated counseling and is being held in our local correctional facility. He has never been officially charged or been given his rights. He waived his extradition rights and we were told by his P.O. that Maine had 30 days to come and get him. The 30 days is now up and he is still sitting in jail. Doesn't Nevada have to release him,now that the time limit has passed?

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-215a.html

Nevada may have it where if he waives his extradition rights and Maine has not gotten him, he may be subject to jurisdiction by Nevada.

I didn't see anything about a 30 day limit. BUt if he waived his extradition rights, he really has no recourse.

N

NGREEN