• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Questions re Bail and Incarceration for Non Payment of Child Support in Texas

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Sepia1065

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Texas

Hi I am new to all of this so I hope someone can help me.
My BF got arrested yesterday and is being held at the county jail. He is charged with:
CONTEMPT OF COURT / NON PAYMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT
FAIL TO MAINTAIN FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY
SPEEDING
EXPIRED LIC PLATE
NO VALID TX REGISTRATION

In total his Bond amount is $3,851. $2,500 of that is a cash only bond for the Non Payment of Child Support. We do not have $3,851 nor can we borrow it from anyone. I tried calling a bail bond company and was told that they do not do Child Support cases nor can they help with cash only bonds. My questions are:

1)Do we have any other options for paying the total bond amount?
2)How long will he have to remain in jail?

For background purposes, he has not been steadily employed for the past two years because of the crappy economy. He was a high school teacher but was laid off and has taken any other job he can over the past 2 years. He just got laid off from his most recent job a month ago. Whenever he worked, money was taken from his paycheck to satisfy his child support payments but he is severely behind in any case. He has a master's degree and has the children 40% of the time. I appreciate any help you can give me.What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

Antigone*

My BF got arrested yesterday and is being held at the county jail. He is charged with:
SPEEDING