• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

SSI and Medicare

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Birdcrazy

Michigan

I have been receiving SSI since 2010. I do not have enough work credits to receive SSDI. I have had the Medicaid that goes along with it for just as long. Anyway I get a couple of letters in the mail today, one saying I've been enrolled in Medicare and the other saying I can enroll in Extra Help for prescriptions. The letter even said I should have been getting Medicare since 2012! I looked up the laws and a 35 year old on only SSI shouldn't qualify for Medicare. I'm unhappy because Medicaid has been paying all my medical expenses but now I'll have copays and I only live on SSI and my husband gets no income at all (he's trying to get SSI). I'm tired of living in poverty but jobs haven't wanted to hire me because I'm disabled for so long and now it seems social security is trying to drive me further into poverty! They keep saying I qualify because I have been getting disability for long enough but my direct deposits and award letters clearly say SSI and I only get 750! What do I do?

justalayman

I'm tired of living in poverty but jobs haven't wanted to hire me because I'm disabled for so long
If you’re capable of working you don’t qualify for SSI.

Since Medicaid is a income based entitlement, if you qualify for Medicaid financially there is no reason you should be removed from receiving it. If you qualify for SSI you are generally qualified for Medicaid.

I suggest you contact your case worker for Medicaid and ask them what’s up.

Birdcrazy