• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Trespassing a Person from their own Property?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

MrBungles

I live in Florida.

My name is on the deed to the house in which I live. So too are the names of two other individuals, neither of whom has ever lived in the house or on the property. To further complicate matters, I have been making payments for several years to buy out the other two owners. Is there any legal precedent for me to trespass the other two owners? Neither of whom are guilty of any crime. For that matter, neither am I. This has got to be one of the most stupid situations ever summarized on this forum, and I am ashamed to be in the thick of it.

adjusterjack

The three of you are joint owners on the deed so each of you has a right to be on and occupy the property. So, no, you cannot "trespass" them.

However, that you

have been making payments for several years to buy out the other two owners.
implies that there may be a contract involved. If that contract specifies that you have exclusive right to occupy the property and they violate that contractual provision you can go to court and seek an injunction (court order) preventing their access to the property. If they disobey the court order they can be held in contempt and punished by the court.

Now the question is: Do you have a contract and does it address the issue of occupancy.

And, to quote xylene, "you haven't really summarized anything..."

So how about explaining what these other two owners are doing that annoys you so much and how you got into this "stupid situation" (as you describe it).

Just Blue

I live in Florida.