• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Truck Driver Question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Robert.M

PA
I work as a truck driver. The company lost the local account that I am on. They want me to go back over the road. If I refuse to go back over the road would I lose my rights for unemployment. I have things that I have to be home for now.

PayrollHRGuy

PA
I work as a truck driver. The company lost the local account that I am on. They want me to go back over the road. If I refuse to go back over the road would I lose my rights for unemployment. I have things that I have to be home for now.
Probably not. It is a significant change in the work requirement. What the UI agency will be looking for is that you did everything in your power to preserve your job.

You will need to be able to show the change and hardship that it creates. More hours away from home and such. The only thing that might get you is if you were every an over the road driver for them.

If you are originally disqualified make sure to appeal.

adjusterjack

They want me to go back over the road.
Does that mean you were previously an over the road driver? If so, refusal of suitable work generally disqualifies one for unemployment compensation.

A better alternative might be to accept the change and look for another job. It's easier to find a job while you are working than it is to explain why you aren't working.

Robert.M

Yes I was over the road for them 3 1/2 years ago. If I go back over the road it will be very hard to find another job because you are out 3 weeks at a time. You are only home for 4 days every 3 weeks.

adjusterjack

I found the following on the PA unemployment benefits website: