• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

University trying to make me pay for Hope Scholarship

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

State: Georgia
Debt amount: $3,050
Situation: Disputing alleged debt from university over Hope Scholarship

Hello. I graduated from a university. Right before I graduated, they claimed that I had over-withdrawn funds because I had been given a Hope Scholarship when I was past the time frame for me to be eligible and now owed the school $3,050. At the time, they only told me how I could go about paying them, but didn't mentioned the details of why I got this alleged debt and didn't mention I could dispute the claim.
A year goes by and I receive a final notice that I have to pay by the end of the month. Luckily, I'm dating a law school student now and he advised me to send in a legal letter of debt dispute, which I did. After that, the debt collection company basically said that the ball was in my university's court, and it was up to them to close out the debt collection.
I disputed the school's alleged debt under the Hope's scholarship's regulation that,
"114.3. Institutional Repayment.
1. In the event it is determined that an Eligible Postsecondary Institution knowingly or through error certified an ineligible student to be eligible for HOPE Scholarship, the amount of such scholarship shall be refunded by the Eligible Postsecondary Institution to GSFC."
The school admitted that they knew this, that they had paid GSFC off but, "Correct and that is what we did, but that does not mean that the student is not required to now pay the institution back."