• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Vehicle Allowance count as income?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kmlooper

ARIZONA

I am wanting to modify child support. I do not want my ex to make an argument to include it as income. I have read arguments made both ways from lawyers and others. To the point - I get a vehicle reimbursement paid to me each month in the form of a separate check. I am a commercial tires salesman. I HAVE to have a reliable truck for purposes of transporting tires all over town. I can easily drive 3 plus hours in a day, visiting customers, dropping off deliveries, making face-to-face contact, generating new business for the company for which he is employed. I am not commission-based, I am salary, so I drive around all day to further elevate business goals for my company. Is this reimbursement or a perk that counts as income? I have read arguments for both but I understand each case can vary as therefore so does the outcome. So I am being compensated for using my own vehicle so that my company does not have to provide one. It IS on my W2 and taxed. Advice would be appreciated.

Last edited:

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
ARIZONA