• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Weird Police Interrogation Following Administrative Complaint

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

yamahasaxplayer

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Indiana

Two days ago, two uniformed police officers came to my home to ask me questions regarding a complaint that was filed with them. I am a graduate student and the report was filed by a female undergraduate student with whom I have no hold over their grades or any form of academic progress. She initiated conversations with me roughly seven weeks ago that were initially pedestrian but became, at one point, somewhat graphically sexual; something she initiated when she recounted the story of how she had behaved irresponsibly by engaging in sexual intercourse with "a random guy" which led to teasing on both sides of the conversation. Conversations between us over facebook and text message continued for about five to six weeks and over the course of that time many subjects were discussed across a broad range of topics. She began to ask for help with money and homework assignments. I wrote something for her mainly as an example of a well-written essay but she turned it in as her own work. She asked me for money or for me to take her shopping. She claimed she had less than $10 in the bank, couldn't afford to do laundry, and could not afford to eat; I gave her $100. In turn, I asked her to do some things around my house like doing dishes or putting away laundry. Not long after, I was asked to come to my department head's office where I was told the undergraduate student had made an administrative claim against me. At this point I cut all contact off with this person. I deleted h