• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What happens if you don't pay your attorney fees?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

cindy399

What is the name of your state? VA

Probably not the most appropriate question to ask on this forum, but thought I'd ask.

Lawyer blew threw a $7,500 retainer and total expense so far is $9,500....so I have a $2,000 balance. So far we just got our discovery answered.

My divorce should be pretty simple. I'm a pharmacist, husband a dentist, but we make roughly the same amount after my bonuses. Married six years, no kids, no one filed for fault, one home that we both put more or less the same amount.... essentially can literally split everything down the middle. But my husband has a lawyer, and thought I'd get one because I don't want to deal with it and make sure it's done correctly, but my lawyer is not working for me and I'm in the process of finding another.

-Charged $2,000 to 'in the process of creating a protective order for you'. Email back and fourth with him ask him what a protective order is and why he thinks I need one, he doesn't answer either question. Says once he's done he'll show it to me. Saw the $2,000 bill and emailed him and told him I don't want a protective order and you shouldn't do things (especially $2,000 things) without first asking me. He agreed to remove the charge after I complained. But it's the same story again and again.