• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can I get support if my child has my last name, not the fathers?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

TeriDactyl

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? TX

I have never used one of these before, so if I do this wrong, I apologize.

The father of my child (who I knew 19 years) abandoned me when he found out I was pregnant with his child. I was able to put him on the birth certificate when he signed the AOP, but I now realize this was a mistake. I have good reason to believe that he will make himself very scarce throughout my child's lifetime, and do not want my child to have to have his last name as a reminder of abandonment. On the birth certificate my child's last name is mine, but my lawyer says that if I wish to obtain child support I will have to change my child's name to match the fathers. Is there any way to get around this? Can I fight this? The father and I were unmarried.

Proserpina

The father of my child (who I knew 19 years) abandoned me when he found out I was pregnant with his child. I was able to put him on the birth certificate when he signed the AOP, but I now realize this was a mistake. I have good reason to believe that he will make himself very scarce throughout my child's lifetime, and do not want my child to have to have his last name as a reminder of abandonment. On the birth certificate my child's last name is mine, but my lawyer says that if I wish to obtain child support I will have to change my child's name to match the fathers. Is there any way to get around this? Can I fight this? The father and I were unmarried.