• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What can I do? My ex only pays $160 a month for child support.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Sadsinglemom

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I live in California, I am 31 years old single mom, my son is 8 years old now. My son's father was ever around since day 1. I've been raising my child for 8 years with my low income budget. I feel ashame and sad sometimes because I have to live on welfare to raise my son. It's really tough on our live. His dad paid child support $160 monthly, but I have proofs that he works under table, and purchased high end designers . But refused to help me anything else beside that child support. I am really sad, I can not afford lawyers for sure. What can I do? I read California child support laws where I can file child support on his new spouse. They posted expensive items they bought for each other and their newborn. Please help me. Im afraid as my son gets older, my income can not support him. It's expensive to live in California but I have nowhere to go. My ex didn't even visit his son. It's like he completely shut us out of his life. As I'm writing this question, I feel so sad for my son.:(:(

OHRoadwarrior

You can change jobs or get a second. His spouses income does not count. You can ask for a modification if his income has gone up.

Proserpina