• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can my host family take my phone away all the time?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

giulia_de

Hi, I am an exchange student from Germany. And on the question I asked the first time ( I know it wasn’t a question that makes sense to be on this forum) you can see that I have some problems with my host family. So it’s getting even worse and I still want to leave them ( that will probably happen soon because my organization is more cooperative than before) but it still takes some time till I can. So now my host parents are pretty mad about me wanting to leave and they behave like to little children. They take my phone every time I come home from school and I can only have it back the next day when I go to school.
So my question: can they do that?
I know host families can reduce the students time on the phone but can they just take it away from me. I mean that is my property, I paid for that phone. I told my organization about that and I had the feeling they selves aren’t even sure if they can do that.
I hope this is a question that is fine on this forum because as I said it’s my property!
I hope you can help me.

xylene

Basically... Your hosts are actimg as your parents, so legally they can insost you give them the phone, but there is virtually nothing they can do to stop you from the actions I mentioned.

If they are taking the phone to control exploit or otherwise not reach your program or family, or trafficking you... that's different. If you are being harmed, call police and or tell people in charge at school.

giulia_de