• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

GI Bill, Pell Grant, and Child Support

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

normankemper

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

I am a veteran and I live in Florida. I pay $729 per month in child support. I am a full time student and I receive student loans, the Pell Grant, and the GI bill. My child support is currently based on my monthly VA Disability and my 30 hour a week part time job. My ex-wife want to take me back to court to have the amount of support I pay increased based on my student loans, Pell Grant, and my GI bill.
Can anyone help me by telling me where, in any law, it says that the GI Bill and the Pell grant will not be considered as income in calculating child support? I've searched everywhere and have hit a big dead end. I have been through enough court hearings to know that if you can not provide case-law or proof that it cannot, then the judge will not listen. The judge will not care if I simply say "It isn't fair."

Thank You,
Norman

LdiJ

I am a veteran and I live in Florida. I pay $729 per month in child support. I am a full time student and I receive student loans, the Pell Grant, and the GI bill. My child support is currently based on my monthly VA Disability and my 30 hour a week part time job. My ex-wife want to take me back to court to have the amount of support I pay increased based on my student loans, Pell Grant, and my GI bill.