• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Concerns about CPS and school!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

mistoffolees

First off I asked for advice not opinions and judgements. I have been totally honest.

I know what happened. If there was any possibility that our situation was abuse my daughter would have been removed from the home. She was not.

As a clinical social worker yes, I have obligation to report suspected child abuse. Again based upon the information I would not. Because it appeared to be a UTI. The nurse went on to question and then that is when my daughter said "Daddy hurt her." Yes, as a social worker I could have done the same thing and questioned the kids regarding sexual abuse, but that is not always the case in which case you have traumatized the child and family and caused a difficult working relationship where trust has been broken. I have worked in schools and when we had a similar situation I spoke with the parents about concerns about a medical condition. I told the parents that the child had to be seen by the doctor and the doctor had to send us a written report. It was documented in the child's chart that I kept at the school and in the nurses office. We covered our butts and if the child had not returned back to school with a doctor's note

Not all instances are sexual abuse. I am not saying that sexual abuse does not occur, because I know it does, I have worked with kids who were being sexually abused and have had to report it. As a social worker I am trained not to assume the worst case situation 1st. Which is why it so important to refer out and document when a case could be a medical condition.